NEW WEBSITE We would like to invite you to a sneak peak of our new website before it goes live. Visit the new site


SciLifeLab management

Our center contains a broad range of disciplines in the life science field and the management comprises a scientific leadership to promote frontline national infrastructure services as well as a vibrant and interdisciplinary research environment at SciLifeLab.


Management Group


Integration Directors


Operations Office


Boards and committees

The SciLifeLab Board

The SciLifeLab Board started its assignment during spring 2013, in accordance with directives from the Swedish government. The Board includes one representative each from the four host universities, three representatives from other Swedish universities, one representative from the industry, and is led by chairman Carl-Henrik Heldin, appointed by the Swedish Government. The Board is responsible for the national infrastructure, the management and the communication of SciLifeLab.

  • Carl-Henrik Heldin, Government appointed Chair, Director of the Ludwig Institute in Uppsala, Professor in Molecular Cell Biology at Uppsala University and chair of the Board of the Nobel Foundation
  • Lotta Ljungqvist, President & CEO, GE Nordic, Government appointed Industry representative
  • Mathias Uhlén, Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Stellan Sandler, Vice-Chancellor, Uppsala University
  • Anders Karlhede, Deputy Vice President, Stockholm University
  • Anders Gustafsson, Acting Deputy Vice President, Karolinska Institutet
  • Fredrik Elinder, Prodean of Faculty of Medicine and Health, Linköping University
  • Göran Landberg, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Gothenburg University
  • Katrine Riklund, Pro-vice-chancellor, Umeå University
  • Gunilla Westergren-Thorsson, National SciLifeLab Committee Chair, Lund University, Co-opted member

International Advisory Board

  • Jan Ellenberg, Chair (EMBL Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Sören Brunak (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)
  • Jo Bury (VIB, Belgium)
  • Yoshihide Hayashizaki (RIKEN Omics Science Center, Japan)
  • Sirpa Jalkanen (University of Turku, Finland)
  • Janet Jansson (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jonathan Knowles (FIMM, University of Helsinki, Finland)
  • Svante Pääbo (Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Germany)
  • Aviv Regev (Broad Institute, MIT, USA)
  • Sarah Teichmann (EMBL-EBI & Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK)

More information: International Advisory Board – Member biographies.

National SciLifeLab Committee

  • Gunilla Westergren-Thorsson, chair (SciLifeLab Board)
  • Lisbeth Olsson (Chalmers University of Technology)
  • Jan Stenlid (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
  • Lena Carlsson Ekander (University of Gothenburg)
  • Mikael Sigvardsson (Linköping University)
  • Thoas Fioretos (Lund University)
  • Maria Fällman (Umeå University)
  • Tommy Olsson (WCMM)

SciLifeLab committees at host universities

SciLifeLab committee Karolinska Institutet

  • Stefan Eriksson, Chair
  • Janne Lehtiö
  • Lars Engstrand
  • Katja Petzold
  • Anna Falk
  • One member representing SciLifeLab Fellows

SciLifeLab committee KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Link to meeting minutes

  • Amelie Eriksson Karlström
  • Peter Nilsson
  • Sophia Hober
  • Afshin Ahmadian
  • Hjalmar Brismar
  • Lucie Delamotte
  • Kevin Smith
  • Annika Stensson Trigell
  • Mathias Uhlén
  • Fredrik Sterky

SciLifeLab committee Stockholm University

  • Henrik Cederquist
  • Ylva Engström
  • Barbara Wohlfarth
  • Lennart Bergström
  • Tom Britton
  • Sören Nylin
  • Joakim Edsjö
  • Katariina Kiviniemi Birgersson
  • Jesper Norell
  • Yuan Guo

SciLifeLab committee Uppsala University

  • Jenny Alfredsson
  • Ulf Gyllensten
  • Hanna Johannesson
  • Mats Larhed
  • Peter Lindblad
  • Karl Michaelson
  • Aris Moustakas
  • Mia Phillipson
  • Anna Qvarnström
  • Staffan Svärd
  • Eva Tiensuu Janson
  • Carolina Wählby


Organization and management of infrastructure

Platforms and facilities

SciLifeLab offers advanced technologies, knowhow and support to researchers in Sweden. These technologies and services are provided by facilities, which each represent a certain area of expertise. The facilities are organized into platforms that represent areas of research where a combination of technologies is generally used. Each platform has a Platform Advisory Board responsible for the service offering, strategic decisions and priority management. You can read more about the steering of the national infrastructure in the document to the right (in Swedish and English).

SciLifeLab has ten national platforms, each offering technologies and services through one to eight facilities. Researchers from all over Sweden can apply for technologies and service using the national platforms. Pricing may differ between different facilities, but in general a cost-of-reagents pricing is used.

Each platform is managed by a Platform Director with a Vice Platform Director when applicable who take part in the Platform Advisory Board meetings.

Each facility is managed by a Facility Director and a Head of Facility. The Facility Director ensures the scientific leadership of the platform. The Head of Facility is responsible for the every day operation of the facility.